Danny and Thunder

I am fearless. I am Danny the Dog and (to be redundant), I fear nothing. I chase squirrels, chickens, raccoons, ducks, and of course, cats. However, there is one thing that kind of gets to me, and that is thunder. I don’t know why that is. My human, whose name is Andrew, told me I should go to a doggie psychiatrist and have a past life regression. He said maybe in a past life I had a run in with Thor, the god of thunder. Did I ever tell you that Andrew is an idiot?

Usually I have very little to do with Andrew. I take him for a walk a couple of times a day. I allow him to feed me and give me treats, but for the most part, he goes his way and I go mine. But when it thunders, I want to be as close to him as possible. He’s always on the computer. He went nuts a few years ago and threw the television out the window and he hasn’t replaced it yet. So there he sits, staring at the computer screen day after day. He tells me he’s trying to write, but I know better. Anyway, back to me.

So, when it thunders, I crawl up onto his lap and come between him and his precious computer. But I have to hand it to the old reprobate. He always stops what he’s doing, puts his arm around me, and tells me not to worry.

As soon as the storm passes, I jump down and go back to ignoring him and he goes back to whatever he was doing, probably on a dating site begging some poor female to go out with him. (They never do.)

The accompanying picture was taken during the height of a thunderstorm. I want you all to know that I usually don’t look so forlorn.

Now if you will excuse me, there’s a mother duck and her babies swimming by our boat and I must bark at them. After all, this is my turf and I must defend it to the last bark … because I am fearless.

9 thoughts on “Danny and Thunder

  1. Thunder and fireworks seem to freak my dog out. She can’t sit still with any loud noises. Does Andrew ever climb up onto your lap, Danny?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Never mind, Danny. There are many who are afraid of thunderstorms. Many who are as brave as you. We all know exactly how fearless you are.
    Now go back to protecting your territory (and Andrew, who I’m sure need your protection) from that terrible duck family.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment