Insulin, Pancreas’ And Cures Oh My!

Aoibha Walsh

My levels are low, I’m starving, I’m full, I’m freezing, I’m warm, I’m everything.

The above are basically what a type one diabetic could feel every single day. For those of you who didn’t know, I’ve had type on diabetes for six and a half years and let me tell you it can be a right pain in the butt. I started out with having to give myself up to six to nine injections a day. Each before every meal, limiting the amount I could eat, no snacking without checking your levels on a blood glucose meter etc.

Type one diabetes occurs when the immune system attacks the insulin producing beta cells in the pancreas. While that happens, the pancreas starts producing less and less insulin resulting in the blood sugar levels go high. This is called a “honeymoon”. It is often dangerous if not been diagnosed soon.

Four years…

View original post 333 more words

One thought on “Insulin, Pancreas’ And Cures Oh My!

Leave a Reply

